top of page
  • rosperez0708

Fab Work From Home Workouts

Updated: Dec 3, 2020




If you work from home like I do, you probably spend around 6 - 8 hours sitting down or sitting up in bed pounding away on your laptop. It's always tempting to stay on lounge mode being in the comforts of my own home, dressed like a homeless person with the fridge and bed nearby. Occasionally, I will put on a proper top for a Zoom meeting but otherwise, a soft, tattered t-shirt and old shorts are my clothing of choice. I look at my cats, and think, “Yeah, that’s the way to ride out this pandemic.” But, even my cats suddenly spring to activity, and thus my body, which is quite used to some form of exercise, will eventually demand Cardio.


Margot the menace

Fortunately for work from home peeps, youtube has enough exercise videos to last another pandemic. What’s more, there is such a wide-ranging selection of workouts to keep you motivated. I discovered that the best way to sustain a regular exercise routine—my minimum is 4 times a week—is to let your body take the lead. I’ve learned to just LOVE MOVEMENT for its own sake. Nowadays, I take my cue from how I’m feeling, and if I’m not up to another HIIT workout, then a dance video it is. Great music tricks your body like nothing else can. Apart from the sheer delight of just expressing yourself, when you lose yourself to the music, your workout intensity increases without any effort. We’re talking possible Sufi levels here.


I’ve even allowed myself slow, I-think-I-just-wanna-stretch-today days. I’ve done a Beginner’s Belly Dance workout during a Hmmm-I-wanna-try-something-new-today day. Some people have a favorite workout, I have a variety of favorite workouts.

Here they are:


8 Fab Work From Home Workouts


Who doesn’t know Leslie Sansone? She’s got 2.61 million subscribers. If you work from home you can definitely Walk at Home. I love warming up to one her 20 min. power walk videos.


She & Leslie have the best indoor walking fitness routines. Jessica takes it a couple of notches up with her power walk combinations like Strength Training and HIIT among many others.



Gina B’s dance & walk are super fun workouts. You can dance and walk to the music of Lady Gaga, Michael Jackson, Abba, JLo etc.



Daniel and Alexandra pride themselves with having real people workouts. Check out their youtube channel to know what I mean. When I first did this particular video, I fell in love with the music and practically danced my way through. I can’t count how many times I’ve done this workout.



One day, I searched African dance, they showed up and I never left. African dance brought out my primal side and I got an inexplicable joy from doing the movements. Not to mention the happiest, endorphin-laden sweat. Biggest bonus is shaking off all that heady work from home stuff.

Named after 4 time New Zealand Olympian, Les Mills, this organization is a global fitness revolution. Check out their incredible history here. They have, by far, the coolest music in the planet. I’ve been dancing to this video for years.


I swear Mike Peele’s 30 min. hip hop workouts give you a HIIT workout. His intensity is so contagious you want to jump, kick and pump your body as hard as he does.


Slowing down the pace, my last work from home workout is a Natural Movement routine for body mobility. Sitting for hours is the most unnatural thing we can do for our bodies since we’re designed to do so much more. This is a beginner’s workout with a lot of instruction, but Kellen’s other workouts are quieter and give off a meditative feel to reach what he likes to call “flow”.

Work from home definitely means you can walk, dance and stay fit from home. Being a Freelancer in this pandemic means I live like a monk, but I was able to discover all these awesome people on youtube. This is my way of saying “thank you” to them for keeping me active. Stay safe! See you outside when this is all over.



To know more about the author and the online freelancing services she offers feel free to visit her website.


bottom of page